Welcome to the blog of the ARC, dedicated to encourage, facilitate, and disseminate scholarship that advances the quality and vitality of the Adirondack Park and related environs. For more information on our history, projects, annual conference, and the Adirondack Journal of Environmental Studies, please visit our web page at www.adkresearch.org.

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

Dr. William F. Porter to Receive the 2019 Dr. Elizabeth W. Thorndike Adirondack Achievement Award

Dr. William F. Porter will be presented the 2019 Dr. Elizabeth W. Thorndike Adirondack Achievement Award at the 26th Annual Conference on the Adirondacks, May 22 and 23, 2019 at the Lake Placid Conference Center.  Bill is the inaugural Boone and Crockett Club Professor of Wildlife Conservation in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Michigan State University. A graduate of the University of Northern Iowa, Porter earned his PhD in ecology and behavioral biology from the University of Minnesota.  Bill focuses his research on game-changing issues in conservation now reshaping wildlife conservation: land-use change affecting habitats, emerging diseases in wildlife, shifting patterns in weather and climate, and changing conservation policy. His efforts are helping policy makers of Michigan and the nation enhance conservation wildlife resources.

Prior to his work at Michigan State, Bill distinguished himself for 32 years at the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse as both a professor and the administrator of the 15,000-acre Huntington Wildlife Forest research facility in Newcomb, NY.  His innovative and ground-breaking research has had a major impact on the field of wildlife management — in particular the state Department of Environmental Conservation’s policies and activities in regard to deer, wild turkey and moose.

The Dr. Elizabeth W. Thorndike Adirondack Achievement Award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated significant contributions to the long-term sustainability of the Adirondack Park through scholarship, research, and policy initiatives.  Past awardees include Nina Schoch, wildlife veterinarian and biologist; Ray Curran, Adirondack ecologist; Eileen Allen, SUNY Plattsburgh; Barbara Bedford, Cornell University; Joe Martens, former Commissioner, NYS DEC; Myron Mitchell, SUNY ESF; Jerry Jenkins, Wildlife Conservation Society; Dudley Raynal, SUNY ESF; and, Barbara McMartin, Adirondack author.

No comments: